Gov. Anoatubby returned for ninth term; Briggs, Priddy win contested seats

ADA, Okla. - Inauguration ceremonies for Governor Bill Anoatubby and Lt. Governor-elect Chris Anoatubby will be 11 a.m., Tuesday, Oct. 1, in the Ataloa Theatre on the campus of East Central University in Ada.

Three incumbent legislators, one newly-elected legislator and an incumbent Chickasaw Supreme Court Justice will also take oaths of office during the ceremony.

Chickasaws and friends are invited to attend the ceremony in the theater located in the Hallie Brown Ford Fine Arts Center, 920 E. Main.

Gov. Anoatubby, who has served the Chickasaw people for 32 years as governor, will begin his ninth consecutive term. He has worked for the Chickasaw Nation for 44 years, accepting his first position with the tribe in 1975.

Lt. Gov.-elect Chris Anoatubby, who has more than two decades of experience with the Chickasaw Nation, began his career with the Chickasaw Nation as a staff pharmacist. He has most recently served as Deputy Secretary of Health.

Pickens District Seat 3 representative Linda Briggs, of Marietta; Pontotoc District Seat 5 representative Lisa Johnson Billy, of Lindsay; and Panola District Seat 1 representative Beth Alexander, of Hendrix, were re-elected and will be sworn in during the ceremony.

Newly-elected Tishomingo District Seat 2 representative Derrick Priddy, of Sulphur, and Supreme Court Seat 1 Justice Mark Colbert, of Ardmore, will also take the oath of office during the event.

A reception is planned for all those in attendance following the ceremony.