Chickasaw justice, legislators sworn in for new terms

This article appeared in the November 2020 edition of the Chickasaw Times

ADA, Okla. – Five Chickasaw Nation officials elected during the July 28 general election were sworn into office Thursday, Oct. 1, during a responsible-distanced ceremony which was live streamed nationwide.

Four legislators and one tribal Supreme Court Justice took the oaths of office, which were administered by Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court Chief Justice Linda English Weeks.

Legislators Connie Barker, of Marietta; Karen Goodnight, of Goldsby; J. Lisa Impson, of Ada; and Steven Woods, of Davis, reaffirmed their oaths of office.

Supreme Court Justice Cheri Bellefeuille-Gordon, of Sulphur, was also sworn into office during the ceremony.

Chickasaw Legislators and Supreme Court Justices serve three-year terms.

The Chickasaw Nation Legislature is comprised of 13 members, elected from the Chickasaw Nation’s four legislative districts: Panola, Pickens, Pontotoc and Tishomingo.

The Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court consists of three Supreme Court Justices elected by Chickasaw citizens.